It’s two days nearly since my fellow UK citizens elected a new Conservative government. I voted, but not for the bunch that will now rule the country. Now, I know this isn’t supposed to be a blog about politics, it’s about personal creativity, but politics affects us all and we can’t get away from it.

Without wishing to sound trite, with what this (old) new government is likely to visit upon us in the next five years, I think creativity and the arts will play an important role in keeping so many of us sane and fulfilled. Yes, I realise it can’t alleviate poverty, but creativity can give people a voice. Already, people have blogged about their struggles, and, will, I hope continue to. What I really hope is that they cease to struggle.

A simple trip to the cinema can lift the mood for a short time. Old sitcoms found on YouTube do it for me sometimes. If I have one frustration with that, it’s the feeling that I should be creating, not just consuming. That’s among the reasons I wanted to do my podcast.

Well, I’ll just repeat my callout of last time. Do join me, if you are a creator.

 Would you like to share your creative endeavours and your motivation for them with Squatting Toad? We’ll highlight you on the blog and, hopefully (!), the podcast.

If so, please email me at imasquattingtoad@gmail.com. I’ll get back to you as soon as I can with a short questionnaire, unless you’re happy just to write something. Or just leave a comment.

Aiming to be more upbeat next time.

Mel

X

Author: squattingtoad

Mel is a comedy writer and performer, with a particular interest in creativity and a cynical interest in the workplace and how its idiosyncrasies (nicest word she could find) can drive us all mad.

Leave a Reply

