Love that Library, just love books.

20160110_150251.jpg

Hello again, Friends.

As promised in my last post, after writing I popped straight to my local library branch and borrowed a couple of books. (see picture)

It’s true that I hadn’t been there in some time, and there was no disguising the fact that the once packed lending area shelves were fewer in number, and that, of course, means fewer books. But I found two books to my liking and proudly carried them to the desk for stamping. At that point I was informed that my library card had expired. It needs to be renewed every three years, which shows just how long it was since my last visit. Thankfully the renewal process was quick and painless. Shame on me, though, for not using the library for so long.

I’m very happy with my chosen books. One of my promises to myself this year is to read more poetry and I am shamefully unfamiliar with the work of Roger McGough, Liverpool poet (and he who lends his mellifluous Scouse tones to the Waitrose TV adverts).

The Vienna guide also relates to a long-held promise to myself. I haven’t been to my favourite city for some years, and so, last week, I booked myself a few days there in February. Although I might yet buy a gudiebook, thus also supporting my local bookshop, I wanted to reacquaint myself with this fine city. I am really looking forward to my trip, of which more when it happens, and I am hoping this most musical place will inspire my own creativity.

Now all I have to do is remember that the books have to go back on 28th January. Having not borrowed books for years, my mind is not attuned to such deadlines. Somebody please remind me.

Let’s keep loving books, wherever we find them!

Happy reading (and writing)

Mel

 

 

Author: squattingtoad

Mel is a comedy writer and performer, with a particular interest in creativity and a cynical interest in the workplace and how its idiosyncrasies (nicest word she could find) can drive us all mad.

1 thought on “Love that Library, just love books.”

Leave a Reply

